e: notaoffice@nota.co.uk | e: conference@nota.co.uk

Journal of Sexual Aggression

An international, interdisciplinary forum for research, theory and practice


The Journal of Sexual Aggression provides an international and interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of original research findings, reviews, theory, and practice developments regarding sexual aggression in all its forms. The Journal aims to engage readers from a wide range of research, practice and policy areas, including prevention science, crime science, public health, law and regulation, policing and investigation, prosecution and sentencing, corrections and youth justice, child protection, victim advocacy and support, clinical and risk assessment, and offender treatment and risk management. The Journal recognises that human sexual aggression is a global problem, and therefore wishes to include high quality contributions, written in English, from around the world.

All research articles in this journal, including those in special issues, special sections or supplements, have undergone rigorous peer review, based on initial Editor screening and refereeing by at least two independent, expert referees. All peer review is double blind and submissions may be made online via ScholarOne Manuscripts.

The Journal of Sexual Aggression is published three times a year by our publishing partners Routledge (Taylor & Francis) in association with NOTA.


Current issues, all back volumes and latest articles (published online ahead of print) are now accessible online to NOTA members as part of their membership! In order to access JSA online please email notaoffice@nota.co.uk. Some members may request to receive the journal issues in print.


The Editor welcomes several types of contribution:

  • Original Research Article: The Journal of Sexual Aggression invites authors to submit original research articles (including empirical findings or conceptual development). The Journal publishes a range of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods research. Authors should ensure appropriate and rigorous methods and data analytic  strategies are employed. Manuscripts should include a critical discussion of the wider implications of research findings for research, policy and/or practice.
  • Reviews: The Journal of Sexual Aggression invites authors to submit review (scoping, systematic, meta-analytic) articles. The Editor may also commission reviews on specific areas of interest to the Journal’s audience.
  • Policy and Practice Papers: The Journal of Sexual Aggression invites policy and practice papers, including case studies, to be submitted for review. These articles may discuss current or emerging legal, policy, or practice developments and debates, but must present a critical analysis, drawing on empirical research as part of the discussion. Authors are invited to first submit a written proposal to the Editor, for initial review by NOTA’s policy and practice subcommittee, prior to authors being invited to make a full submission to the Journal.

Original research articles and reviews are typically 8000 words. A typical policy and practice paper should be no more than 6000 words; this limit does not include tables, references or figure captions.

All submitted manuscripts should comply with the Instructions for Authors and must be made online through the Journal’s ScholarOne Manuscripts submission site.

Tables, figures and references are not included in these word counts. All submissions should be written in a clear and accessible style.

Please note that the Journal of Sexual Aggression operates a double blind peer review system. Authors must make sure that no identifying information can be found on their submitted cover letters, response letters, or the main manuscript file. The cover or title page must contain author identifying information but must be submitted as a separate file in order to exclude it from the reviewing process.

All submitted manuscripts should comply with the Instructions for Authors and must be made online through the Journal’s ScholarOne Manuscripts submission site.



Dr Nadine McKillop  –  Co-Leader, Sexual Violence Research and Prevention Unit (SVRPU), University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia  

Associate Editors:

Dr Lara Christensen – Co-Leader, Sexual Violence Research and Prevention Unit (SVRPU), University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia   

Dr Andrea Darling – Postdoctoral Research Associate, Department of Sociology, Durham University, UK

Dr Leigh Harkins –   Associate ProfessorUniversity of Ontario Institute of Technology, Canada

Dr Danielle Harris – Deputy Director, Griffith Youth Forensic Service, Griffith Criminology Institute, Griffith University, Australia

Dr Stephanie Kewley   – Reader in Forensic Psychology, Liverpool John Moores University, UK

Dr Susan Rayment-McHugh – Co-Leader, Sexual Violence Research and Prevention Unit (SVRPU), University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia   

Editorial Board:

Dr Eric Beauregard  –  Associate Professor, School of Criminology, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Professor Sarah Brown  –   Professor of Forensic Psychology, Centre for Research in Psychology, Behaviour and Achievement, Coventry University, Coventry, UK

Dr James Cantor  –  Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Toronto, Canada
Dr Franca Cortoni –  Associate Professor, School of Criminology, Université de Montréal, Canada
Dr Jackie Craissati –  Consultant Clinical & Forensic Psychologist, Forensic & Prisons Directorate Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust, UK
Dr Rajan Darjee  – Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist, Victorian Institute of Forensic Mental Health (Forensicare), Australia
Dr Kevin Epps –  Director and Consultant Psychologist, Positive Pathways Ltd; and Honorary Lecturer, University of Birmingham
Dr Bernard Gallagher –  Senior Research Fellow, University of Huddersfield, UK
Dr Amy Rose Grubb –  University of Worcester, UK 
Dr Karen Harrison –  Senior Lecturer in Law, University of Hull, UK
Dr Ian Lambie –  Psychology Department, University of Auckland, New Zealand 
Dr Benoit Leclerc –  School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Griffith University, Australia
Dr Michelle Lowe (formerly Davies) –   Ashworth Research Centre, Mersey Care NHS Trust, UK
Dr Liam Marshall –  Rockwood Psychological Services, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Dr Anne-Marie McAlinden   – School of Law, Queen’s University Belfast, UK

Dr Afroditi Pina  –   Centre of Research and Education in Forensic Psychology (CORE-FP), School of Psychology, University of Kent, UK

Dr David Prescott  –  Clinical Director, Becket Services, Portland, Maine, USA 
Dr Ethel Quayle –  Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh, UK
Dr Geris Serran –  Psychologist, Correctional Services Canada, Ontario, Canada
Professor Tony Ward –  Clinical Director, School of Psychology, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

Dr Miriam Wijkman  –  Assistant Professor, School of Criminology, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Dr Gwenda Willis  –  School of Psychology, The University of Auckland, New Zealand 
Dr Robin J. Wilson –  Wilson & Associates, Sarasota, Florida, USA